top of page

Social Media helps Seattle man find his stolen service dog.


How Facebook and Instagram helped bring a happy ending.

Seattle, WA - For six years Nik Glaser has always had someone he could rely on when he needed a little help: his service dog, a golden doodle named Kramer.

" I suffer from anxiety," says Glaser. "Kramer has this knack of knowing at the right time to come over, and put his head on my lap, or reach out and touch my hand. It's that momentary break I need to change my thought track over to something else."

Glaser had a lot on his mind last December. He was in Seattle --planning his move from LA ---when he learned back home Kramer had vanished...apparently stolen from his apartment.

"It's devastating," says Glaser. " Complete loss and shock and scared. Just confusion. Don't know where to even start looking for your dog. What do you do in that moment right? There's just so many emotions at once."

Glaser flew back to LA --filed a police report--posted signs around his neighborhood and lost dog ads on Craigslist.

" I had this ticking clock in the back of my head," says Glaser. " I knew that a move to Seattle was coming in about month and so that obviously it increased your stress level and anxiousness to find your dog".

He started a Facebook page --Bring Kramer Home--and a Twitter page asking celebrities to help spread the word. He founded a go fund me page to increase his $2000 reward to $10-thousand and attracted 9000 followers to his Instagram page Everybody Loves Kramer. Eventually he even got help from Perez Hilton and actress Denise Richards.

"With all the social media going on how many eyes do you think were out there actually looking for Kramer?" asked reporter Saint Bryan.

"I would say a conservative estimate of at least 70,000 to 100,000 people"

Tips were pouring in but -- his new job starting -- Glaser had to move to Seattle. Without Kramer.

"It was probably one of the hardest things I've ever had to do," says Glaser.

Then--one Tuesday morning in Seattle-- Glaser got an email. Two months after his disappearance, Kramer had been dropped off at an LA animal shelter.

"The moment that email came through my heart just exploded with happiness!" says Glaser.

Glaser got a friend to pick up Kramer caught the next flight to LA and raced over to the apartment.

" I think we're both just mutually so beside ourselves with happiness and it was such a sweet reunion!" says Glaser.

Hard to guess who missed whom the most.

"Those dog kisses have never felt better on my face!" says Glaser.

Where was Kramer? He's not saying but Glaser says if you lose your dog, tell the world.

"It's really really important to use the power of social media and stay positive and get your message out there," sums up Glaser," and I am so thankful for every single person who has reached out supported me through this. They really kept me going at times and they've been so helpful".

Credit: Saint Bryan, KING 5 EVENING


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
bottom of page